Posted by: Katie | April 27, 2009

Travels …..

It was suggested that I make a diary of my travels, but there was one problem with that, I had no PC access. Instead, I will have to try to summarise the whole trip in some lines and words. Where to start, what to say, how to explain. Are there even words to do so? I doubt it. But, I will try.

The arrival was nervewracking, but only for a few moments. Strolling nonchalantly out of the airport I didn’t see anyone (because I forgot my glasses) but they saw me and I was soon enveloped in hugs, kisses and beautiful flowers. A whirlwind hour of finding the studio, watching the sights, settling and then off to have drinks by the river, where I marveled, chatted about anything and everything and was made to feel so comfortable by my wonderful friends.

the river

Time flew by, the sunshine faded and all too soon it was time to return to my ‘home for the visit’, to unpack, and to discover that the months didn’t change anything.
My stay passed in a flurry of candlelit dinners, Fado music, visits, sights to see, food to try (there wasn’t anything I didn’t like) buses to catch, trams to admire, shopping, special gifts, and some of the best pastries I have ever tasted, all the better for being shared with friends.

pastries

All too soon it was Saturday, which turned out to be probably the best day of the visit. We went to a magical castle for the whole day, caught the end of the parade, visited a huge store, then returned home to prepare for the evening, to meet even more friends who shared home made food and movies. I could not possibly chose a favourite of the many dishes, but I think the cod in cream might just have the edge! And I finally got to meet the Magic family. Mami, it was a sheer delight to meet with you at long last, you are just as lovely as in SL. Indeed, everyone was. Friendly and welcoming. E, your home is so lovely, as are you, and I do hope you feel better soon.
I was presented with a gift, something I will treasure because of the people who made it and the memories it represents.

Then Sunday, time to prepare to leave. It was initially sad, but once again you all made it special, sharing a Sunday ceremony, and being there with me right to the time of the flight departure. I didn’t want to leave, but life dictates otherwise and so we said goodbye, and I reluctantly headed for the bording gate.

flight13

The broomstick was comfortable, and I arrived home tired but happy, with many memories of beautiful people. Two in particular, B and W, thank you for your kindness, for everything. You are delightful, full of fun and laughter, I love you and I cannot wait to meet you again.

Responses

  1. Time really flies when you are having fun and these days were the living proof of that!!! We missed you the minute you went, and that’s so true. Loved meeting you and sharing with you such special moments. 🙂 You are a great Lady!!! We will meet again sooooo soon, you’ll see. Thank you too!!! 😀

    (And the pastries: the bst in the whole world as I told you!!! 🙂 )

  2. Nothing much to say except… I love you! xxx

  3. You’re so…. so…. British, Katie!

    🙂

    Although our conversations were a little bit short (lol – as they usually are with Aggio), it was really nice to meet you last Saturday!

  4. Blue, as usual, you were correct 😀

    Ofland, I’m not sure if that is a complement or not, being ‘so British’, but yes, I suppose I am 😀 I never have short conversations with Aggio, lol, though I’m sure he sometimes wishes I would! It was really nice to meet you and Mer too.

    I’m quite glad you have nothing much to say love because those few words will do just fine. xxx

  5. awww, and I hardly had 2 minutes for a chat! you have to come back soon! bxxx

    • Lol! you were elbow deep in washing dishes all evening. /me glances at the pots and pans. You can come visit me anytime 😉


Leave a Reply

Categories

